Hammers Sign Collins

West Ham have re-signed former centre-back James Collins for £2million. The Welsh defender has signed a four-year deal at the Hammers, the club that he left in 2009 to sign for Aston Villa.

Speaking to the clubs official website, Collins said:

“It’s great to be back, obviously having been here before and coming back and seeing some of the same old faces is great. As soon as I knew the interest was there from West Ham I couldn’t wait to get down and sign. I had a great affinity with the club and the fans when I was here the first time and I enjoyed my time here so much last time that it wasn’t a hard decision to make, to be honest. I think everyone knew that I didn’t really want to leave when I did [in 2009] because I was enjoying my time here so much. I’ve come back and I’m a much better player this time around so I can’t wait to get cracking and show the fans that I am a better player and can put in the performances on the pitch. I’ve got so many good memories – getting into the FA Cup final in my first season and finishing so high [ninth] in the league and then the way we escaped relegation that year was one of my fondest memories in football. Hopefully I won’t have too many more memories like that! I just cannot wait to get back and show the fans what a better player I am now.”

Leave a Reply

